How many departments are in 26 regions in France?

How many departments are in 26 regions in France?

Ninety-six departments are in metropolitan France, and five are overseas departments, which are also classified as overseas regions. Departments are further subdivided into 332 arrondissements, and these are divided into cantons.

What is the difference between a department and a region in France?

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments ( Departements ). There is a total of 96 excluding the overseas territories. Each department has a unique number, which is used for many administrative reasons, such as the vehicle registration plates, postcodes, but not phone numbers.

What are the 5 departments of France?

Since March 2011, the five overseas departments and regions of France are:

  • French Guiana in South America;
  • Guadeloupe in the Caribbean;
  • Martinique in the Caribbean;
  • Mayotte in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa;
  • Réunion in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa.

How many regions and departments are there in France?

France is divided into eighteen administrative regions (French: régions, singular région [ʁeʒjɔ̃]), of which thirteen are located in metropolitan France (in Europe), while the other five are overseas regions (not to be confused with the overseas collectivities, which have a semi-autonomous status).

What is the biggest department in France?

List of departments by descending population

2013 Rank Department Area (km²)
1 Nord 5,743
2 Paris 105
3 Bouches-du-Rhône 5,087
4 Rhône 3,249

What European region is France?

The Northern and Western Europe region includes economies from Northern Europe (Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom), and Western Europe (Austria, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Switzerland).

What is the largest department in France?

Which is the biggest overseas department in France?

Réunion. Réunion is the other overseas region of France, and the largest overseas region in terms of population, with over 850,000 inhabitants.

What are France 5 overseas territories?

The five French overseas territorial communities are Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and French Polynesia.

What are the 5 largest immigrant groups in France?

The Italians came in greatest numbers (35 percent), followed by the Poles (20 percent), the Spanish (15 percent), the Belgians (10 percent), and a smaller number of people from central or eastern European countries. France: Immigrant population admitted Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Which French region has the most departments?

Is France located in Italy?

Geography: Location: Central Western Europe, bordering the Bay of Biscay and the English Channel, between Belgium and Spain, southeast of the UK; bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Italy and Spain.

How many regions are in France?

France Map with regions Since 1st january, 2016, France is divided in 18 régions. – 13 regions in metropolitan France (Corsica counting). – 5 overseas regions (which are also departments) : Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana, Reunion and Mayotte.

How many departments are in France?

France Map with departments France is divided into 101 departments : – 96 departments in mainland France, numbered 1 through 95 plus Corsica: 2A and 2B replacing the number 20. – 5 overseas departments (which are also regions) : Guadeloupe (971), Martinique (972), Guyana (973), Reunion (974) and Mayotte (976).

What is a region?

The region is the first level of administrative divisions on the map of France. Before the French Revolution of 1789, France was divided into provinces from the historical feudal history. Some of these regions roughly correspond to the current regions.

How many regions does each department belong to?

Each department belongs to a single region. (Each of four overseas region being composed of a single department). France is divided into 101 departments. They are divided into 343 districts (“arrondissements”), 4 058 townships (“cantons”) and 36 699 Towns (“communes”).