What are the 5 main different types of licenses drivers?

What are the 5 main different types of licenses drivers?

Different Driver’s License Types

  • Class D. Although it may seem odd to jump into the middle of the alphabet to start, a Class D license is the most common type of driver’s license.
  • Junior License (DJ)
  • Commercial Driver’s License (Class A, B, and C)
  • Taxi and Livery (Class E)
  • Motorcycles.

What class is a full license in BC?

Class 5 Licence
Class 5 Licence – After two years of safe driving, you can apply for your full driver’s license in BC. You will have to take a Class 5 road test to prove your driving skills. If you pass, you will receive a full licence and no longer have the same restrictions of a Novice or Learner’s License.

What is a Class 5 BC license?

Class 5 or 7 driver’s licence To drive cars, vans, trucks, construction, utility vehicles (2 axles maximum) and motorhomes (may exceed 2 axles) To tow trailers or vehicles up to 4,600kg. To ride a limited speed motorcycle or an all-terrain vehicle (ATV)

What are the classes of driving Licence?

NTSA Driving License Categories, requirements and fees

  • Category A. AM (Moped)
  • Category B. B1 (Light Vehicle Automatic)
  • Category C. C1 (Light Truck)
  • Category D. D1 (Van)
  • Category E. Age: 21 – 65 years (Licensed as EC1, EC, ECE, ED, ED1, ED2 and ECD3)
  • Category F (Persons with Disability)
  • Category G.

What is class A and B?

A class A license is considered the “universal” CDL, providing the opportunities for driving several different types of commercial trucks and tractor trailers. A class B license also allows operation of different types vehicles such as straight trucks and dump trucks, but it is more limiting than a class A CDL.

What does class D mean on driver’s license?

Different driver’s licenses can be used to operate different classes of vehicles. The most common is the passenger (Class D) license, which allows you to legally operate a passenger vehicle, van or small truck.

What is a Class 6 license in BC?

A Class 6 License is required to ride a motorcycle, or a scooter which is 51cc or bigger. You must first obtain a Learner’s License from ICBC before you can start learning how to ride. Once you have a learner’s license, ProRIDE can help take you the rest of the way.

What is a Class 1 license in BC?

B.C.’s Class 1 MELT program for new drivers of heavy commercial vehicles will stipulate a minimum required number of practical behind-the-wheel driving hours, in-yard hours and theoretical instructional hours. The program will be delivered by licensed driver training schools in B.C. beginning in early summer 2021.

What is a Class 7 learners?

A Class 7 learner’s licence allows you to drive a Class 5 or 6 vehicle with someone over 18 who has a full Class 5 driver’s licence or higher. They must sit in the front passenger seat. This licence also allows you to drive a moped.

What is Category B on my driving Licence?

Category B – if you passed your test on or after 1 January 1997. You can drive vehicles up to 3,500kg MAM with up to 8 passenger seats (with a trailer up to 750kg). Physically disabled drivers with provisional category B entitlement will also have provisional entitlement to ride category A1 or A motor tricycles.

What is Category B driving license?

The category B licence lets you drive a motor vehicle with a maximum weight of up to 3,500kg, it can’t have more than eight passenger seats. If you want to use a trailer the most it can weigh without additional hassle is 750kg.

What is a Class C?

A Class C is a motorhome built with a cab or cut-away chassis. A cab/cut-away chassis provides a front structure that looks like a van, including seats, a dash, opening doors, and body sheet metal. Many people like the Class C because it is familiar to their own automobile.

What type of licence do I need to drive in BC?

Find out what type of licence you need to drive different vehicles in B.C. Whether you’re a new or existing driver, here’s how to get riding. You need a Class 1, 2, 3 or 4 licence for driving vehicles such as buses, taxis and trucks with more than two axles.

What is a Class 5 licence in BC?

Class 5 Licence – After two years of safe driving, you can apply for your full driver’s license in BC. You will have to take a Class 5 road test to prove your driving skills.

How long does it take to get a drivers license in BC?

The first licence level is a Class 7, which is graduated. This license takes about three years to complete before you can test for your Class 5 and includes: Learner’s Licence – You are eligible for this learner’s license in BC on or after your 16th birthday.

What is the Canadian driver’s licence reference guide?

DISCLAIMER/CAUTION The Canadian Driver’s Licence Reference Guideis designed to be used as guidelines only. While the guidelines represent good practices, they may not conform exactly to current provincial/territorial regulations. Inspectors are cautioned to always follow current regulations when determining what licence information is required.