Where is the Blue Mountains located?

Where is the Blue Mountains located?

New South Wales, Australia
Blue Mountains, section of the Great Dividing Range, eastern New South Wales, Australia. The range comprises a well-dissected sandstone plateau that rises from an eastern escarpment (1,200–1,800 feet [370–550 metres]) to 3,871 feet (1,180 metres) in a western scarp at Bird Rock.

How do you get to the Blue Mountains from Sydney?

The most popular means of transport to the Blue Mountains is by car. The entrance to the Blue Mountains at Glenbrook/Lapstone is only around 50 minutes drive from Sydney. From the city, follow the signs to Parramatta. The M4 Motorway starts at Strathfield and takes you through to Lapstone in the Blue Mountains.

Where does the Blue Mountains start and end?

The Blue Mountains Range comprises a range of mountains, plateau escarpments extending off the Great Dividing Range about 4.8 kilometres (3.0 mi) northwest of Wolgan Gap in a generally southeasterly direction for about 96 kilometres (60 mi), terminating at Emu Plains.

What is at the Blue Mountains?

The charm of the Blue Mountains goes beyond its natural wonders. Pay a visit to the quiet mountain towns of Katoomba, Leura and Blackheath to find beautiful street art, antique shops, museums, cultural centres and cosy cafes with friendly locals. Scenic World is a great base for enjoying the mountains’ best views.

What suburbs are in Blue Mountains?

The Blue Mountains LGA encompasses the principal suburbs of Bell, Blaxland, Blackheath, Bullaburra, Faulconbridge, Glenbrook, Hazelbrook, Katoomba, Lapstone, Lawson, Leura, Linden, Medlow Bath, Megalong, Mount Irvine, Mount Riverview, Mount Tomah, Mount Victoria, Mount Wilson, North Katoomba, Shipley, Springwood, Sun …

Is Blue Mountains part of metropolitan Sydney?

Despite our unique peripheral urban fringe character, the Blue Mountains is considered by the State Government to be part of the Greater Sydney Metropolitan Area. Blue Mountains natural areas provide a significant recreation and tourism resource for Greater Sydney and the world.

Which city is known as the Blue Mountains?

Phawngpui (Pron: /ˌpʰɔ:ŋˈpʊɪ/), also known as Blue Mountain, is the highest mountain peak in the Mizo Hills (Lushai Hills) and in the state of Mizoram, India, with an elevation of 2157 m. It is in Lawngtlai district, in the southeastern region of Mizoram near the Myanmar border.

What towns are included in the Blue Mountains?

Blue Mountains City includes the townships and localities of Bell, Berambing (part), Bilpin (part), Blackheath, Blaxland, Blue Mountains National Park, Bullaburra, Faulconbridge, Glenbrook, Hawkesbury Heights, Hazelbrook, Katoomba, Lapstone, Lawson, Leura, Linden, Medlow Bath, Megalong Valley (part), Mount Irvine.

How many suburbs are in the Blue Mountains?

Pages in category “Suburbs of the City of Blue Mountains” The following 29 pages are in this category, out of 29 total. This list may not reflect recent changes (learn more).

What is considered Sydney metropolitan area?

List of areas in Sydney Metro

  • Central & Inner Metropolitan.
  • Sydney City.
  • Ultimo.
  • Chippendale.
  • Pyrmont.
  • Surry Hills.
  • Kings Cross.
  • Alexandria.

Where is NSW metro area?

It includes the City of Sydney, Waverley, Randwick, Canada Bay, Inner West, Bayside and Woollahra local government areas.

Is Blue Mountains national park open in Sydney?

Contact in the Sydney and surrounds and Country NSW regions Blue Mountains National Park is always open but may have to close at times due to poor weather or fire danger. Some parts of the park close overnight; details are provided for specific attractions. Park entry fees: $8 per vehicle per day applies only at attractions in the Glenbrook area.

Where is Blue Mountains New South Wales?

Blue Mountains New South Wales Area 11,400 km 2 (4,401.6 sq mi) Location 50 km (31 mi) NW of Sydney CBD LGA (s) Blue Mountains State electorate (s) Blue Mountains & Penrith

Where is the Blue Mountains Heritage Centre located?

This website is a local family owned and operated website developed by the multi-award winning Stralia Web team based in Springwood, Blue Mountains New South Wales Australia. Maps and Guides for Blue Mountains National Park, Wildlife, Geology, Aboriginal Culture etc – Blue Mountains Heritage Centre

Where is the Blue Mountains region located?

The region borders on Sydney ‘s metropolitan area, its foothills starting about 50 kilometres (31 mi) west of centre of the state capital, close to the major suburb of Penrith. The public’s understanding of the extent of the Blue Mountains is varied, as it forms only part of an extensive mountainous area associated…