What is the EYLF curriculum?

What is the EYLF curriculum?

The Early Years Learning Framework describes the curriculum as “all the interactions, experiences, activities, routines and events, planned and unplanned, that occur in an environment designed to foster children’s learning and development”.

Is the EYLF a curriculum or syllabus?

The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) is a guide for early childhood educators. Through a series of principles, practices and learning outcomes it sets out key ideas about the ways in which we work with young children. It is not a curriculum or syllabus.

What are the 5 principles of the EYLF?

What are the five principles of the EYLF?

  • Secure, respectful and reciprocal relationships.
  • Partnerships.
  • High expectations and equity.
  • Respect for diversity.
  • Ongoing learning and reflective practice.

How does the EYLF influence the curriculum planning process?

The experiences and activities listed on the curriculum plan, are intentional are intended to achieve a learning outcome based on the EYLF. This means all the experiences planned and which children are engaged in on a daily basis, have an outcome and are planned to be available on that specific day.

What are the key components that make up the EYLF?

3 Core Elements of the EYLF The EYLF consists of three interrelated elements – Principles, Practices, and Learning Outcomes – that are pivotal for establishing education strategies and their curriculum.

What is EYLF childcare?

The Early Years Learning Framework is a guide to supporting and nurturing young children’s learning from birth to five years of age, and their transition to school.

What are the 8 practices of the early years learning framework?

What are the EYLF Practices?

  • Practice 1: Holistic Approaches.
  • Practice 2: Responsiveness to Children.
  • Practice 3: Learning through Play.
  • Practice 4: Intentional Teaching.
  • Practice 5: Learning Environments.
  • Practice 6: Cultural Competence.
  • Practice 7: Continuity of Learning and Transitions.
  • Practice 8: Assessment for Learning.

What are the 5 learning outcomes?

The five learning outcomes

  • Children have a strong sense of identity.
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world.
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing.
  • Children are confident and involved learners.
  • Children are effective communicators.

What are the 7 quality areas in childcare?


  • Quality Area 1 – Educational program and practice.
  • Quality Area 2 – Children’s health and safety.
  • Quality Area 3 – Physical environment.
  • Quality Area 4 – Staffing arrangements.
  • Quality Area 5 – Relationships with children.
  • Quality Area 6 – Collaborative partnerships with families and communities.

What is EYLF planning cycle?

The EYLF planning cycle is a process of professional observation, planning and evaluation used by early childhood educators to assist in developing high quality early childhood education programmes for children. This cycle is often referred to as the five steps of the planning cycle.

How do educators make curriculum decisions?

When educators make curriculum decisions with the aim of inclusion, they base their decisions on what they know about each child and their strengths, needs, interests and abilities. They apply that knowledge to planned learning experiences, routines, interactions and the physical environment.

What is the vision for the EYLF?

The vision is that “all children experience learning that is engaging and builds success for life.” The idea is that services can develop their own strategies to meet the framework’s objectives.

What is an EYLF curriculum plan?

The EYLF curriculum plan is one of the most important documents needed for every early childhood setting. The experiences that are planned are not just setup to entertain the children, they are intentional and are developed to enhance children’s learning, development and care.

What is the early years learning framework (EFL)?

Element 1.1.1: The Early Years Learning Framework (or other approved learning framework) guides curriculum decision making and enables each child’s learning in the five outcomes: A learning framework is an important tool for helping educators to work with children and families to achieve the best learning and developmental outcomes for children.

How does the EYLF promote children’s learning?

The EYLF promotes children’s learning by drawing on a rich variety of pedagogical practices by: The Learning Outcomes provide milestones for educators to identify achievements in a child’s learning progress. The outcomes observable, and recognise that children learn in different ways, with varying capabilities.

What is the eyeylf framework?

EYLF Overview* The Early Years Learning Framework is an early childhood curriculum framework for early childhood educators. The framework can be downloaded in a 47-page PDF with the compelling title, Belonging, Being & Becoming. The framework is a component of Australia’s National Quality Framework for early education and child care.